Is it a Ballad or Free Verse?

Well if you don’t know yet, let me tell you. My faith is very important. I’ll post a more detailed version of why a little bit later. I was raised up in church and did that a good girl was supposed to do. I was the sweet southern girl who always wore a smile and would ask a million questions. I thought I asked the right questions about God. I knew of Him but considered him a distant being, that was unattainable. I never accepted what was done for me. I never had a personal relationship until 3 years ago. My life hasn’t been a very easy walk since birth really. My life has been filled with pain, loss, love, trials, blessings, and joy.

I have a very diverse life story and plan on sharing it. I am not ashamed of my story, because it makes me who I am. I believe my life to be a representation of the gospel. I also say that as an imperfect person.

          I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile. ~Romans 1:16

I have learned the hard way that everyone has something that they are struggling with. No one escapes this world without them. You do have a choice though. You can pull yourself up by the boot straps and face the unknown or you can muddle in the struggle. I have done both. I have loved one and hated the other. I have stayed in the mud, just as long as I have stayed in the fire.

But I will say that being refined is not to be easy. Being refined is basically having someone chisel all the negative, the gross places of our human selves. We are all broken people in need of healing.

Trials are for growth, remember that even if you disagree. Be courageous in the uncertainty of life. Press forward and understand that there is always beauty in the struggle. But we were never meant to struggle alone.
Suffering –> Perseverance –> Character –> Hope 
          Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.  ~James 1:2-5

So with that said…I love to write. Writing to me is like running to others. Endorphins just plague my blood stream. Writing is great because you can cover any topic you want to. Writing is creative. Writing is medicine. Writing is communication. Writing is a necessity.

So I ask, Is it a Ballad or Free Verse? I think the letters, the words, the phrases are just themselves. Maybe they don’t need to be defined.

This morning I was bitten by the creative bug which happens pretty frequently. If I don’t stop what I am doing I will miss it and not be able to retrieve that moment again. So I stopped doing laundry and started to profusely write, just scribbling every thought. This is what I came up with. This is a little piece of my heart and feelings. When I created it I had the instrumental of “Color of the Wind” playing in the back of my head. That is the rhythm that this writing has. I hope I have described it enough that you understand my vision and are inspired by it. Forewarning, it may not flow or transition well. Also, I think it’s obvious, I love ampersands. Enjoy!

Be my every thought; wipe away my weakness.

Calm my raging seas; answer calls of distress.

Be the light that brings my ship to the shore,
Remind me of your holiness now & forevermore.

Let me walk along the beaches you’ve created,
& run to you now though, all this time you waited.

Come in the light, & let me see your shinning face,
Take me somewhere, that’s unknown, an unchartered place.

Have you ever seen the wind though you can only feel it?
Or asked the seasons why they like to change?
Can you let go of all your inhibitions?
If you can see all of the saints praising the King,
Then you will know the Greatness of My Living God.

[Instrumental in Song]

I think of all your worthiness; pride is abated.

I want to see you for all that you are.

You call me out of darkness & show me the light,
& carry all my burdens; feeling like a kite.

You cast away all fears with your love,
& hold me in your hand, tight like a glove.

Though miles and miles have separated us,
I will love you with my heart, to you I truss.

Come close to Him my Lord,

If you only knew,
If you only knew!

Have you ever seen the wind move even though you can only feel it?
Or asked the seasons why they like to change?
Can you let go of all your inhibitions?
Can you can see all of the saints praising the King,

You could own all the Earth and still,
& then lose your life until,
You surrender all of your will.

Then you will know the Greatness of My Living God.

In love & inspiration,
KSL

Leave a Reply

